AUSTIN – A new system that standardizes and simplifies registration fees for nearly every vehicle owner in Texas begins September 1, 2011.
Car and truck owners whose vehicles weigh 6,000 pounds or less will pay a base vehicle registration fee of $50.75. This is a slight reduction – about $8 - from the previous registration fee for new vehicle owners, and a small increase – around $10 - for those with older vehicles.
Some Texans also will pay a new $1 automation fee. This fee was assessed in Texas’ largest 60 counties, but now applies statewide. Vehicle owners will continue to pay the $1 Department of Public Safety fee for TexasSure, the electronic insurance verification program, and any local county fees.
Fees being eliminated include the annual 30-cent reflectorization fee that was on every registration renewal, and the $5 charge for license plate transfers.
Those with heavy vehicles (more than 6,000 pounds) where registration fees were previously calculated by 100-pound weight increments in 1,600 fee categories will now find their registration fees fall into seven weight classifications.
Fees also change for trailer owners. The 75 different trailer categories, which include travel trailers, are reduced to one annual fee. It will cost $45 to register any trailer or travel trailer up to 6,000 pounds.
The new law also standardizes the license plate replacement fee at $6.