Blanco County News
Weather Fair 50.0°F (90%)
FFA Wins ENR State Championship
Wednesday, May 2, 2012 • Posted May 2, 2012

The Blanco FFA Chapter spent the past week in Stephenville competing in the Tarleton State University State FFA Career Development Events. Of the six events Tarleton hosted, Blanco qualified teams to compete in five different competitions; more than any other school at this year’s event. Overall, 243 teams and more than 900 contestants from across the state qualified to represent their respective districts and areas at the state competition.

Blanco’s Environmental Natural Resources Team, consisting of Jace Ammons, Colton Childress, Kyle Sauceda and Weston Copenhaver, won the first ever State Championship for this event and will represent Blanco and Texas at the National Contest at Indianapolis in November. Individually, Blanco was the only team to have all four contestants place in the top ten, with Jace 2nd, Colton 3rd, Kyle 5th, and Weston 9th. Other teams rounding out the top five included Rusk, Harper, Blanket, and Belton.

Also placing high for Blanco was the Homesite Evaluation Team consisting of Taylor Guinn, Ryan Edwards, Kenny Omo, and Phil Alvarado. Overall, Blanco’s Homesite team placed third behind Grapeland and Madisonville, while Taylor was recognized as the fourth high individual overall.

Other teams placing for the Blanco FFA included the Range, Land and Dairy Teams. Range finished 12th overall. Team members were Callie Culton, Sam Isenberg, TJ Raby, Ed Alvarado, Mason Leblanc, and Alley Penshorn. The Land Team ranked 17th. Team members included Britton Wagner, Skylar Itz, Mackenzie Johnson, Mike Gonzales, and Megan Andrews. Finally, the Dairy Team tied for 24th with teammates Morgan Lowak, Elise Edmondson, Colton Elrod, and Jack Morgan.

Advisors for the Blanco FFA are Felice and Jason Marek.

This article has been read 82 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Blanco County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus