Blanco County News
Weather Partly Cloudy 84.0°F (41%)
Filing Period for Education Service Center Board of Directors Vacancies Announced
Wednesday, February 6, 2013 • Posted February 7, 2013

The filing period for three vacancies on the Education Service Center Region 13 board of directors is February 1 through February 20.

Terry Smith, executive director of the education service center, announced that candidates may file on a board approved form, in person or by certified mail, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday at Education Service Center Region 13 administrative office, 5701 Springdale Road, Austin.

Candidates for place 3 must live in Travis County. Candidates for place 6 must live in one of the following 16 counties in Region 13 -- Bastrop, Bexar (Comal ISD only), Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Comal, Fayette, Gillespie, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Kendall (except residents in Boerne ISD), Lee, Llano, Milam (residents must reside in Thorndale ISD only), and Williamson.

Education service center board of directors are elected by school district boards of trustees in each region at the first regular or special board meeting held between March 1 and April 5.

Candidates for the regional board must be 18 years of age or older, a U.S. citizen and a resident of the region. They must not be engaged professionally in education or a member of a board of any educational agency or institution.

The term of office of each board member is three years beginning on June 1 following the election.

Dr. Charles Akins of Travis County (Austin) is now holding Place 1 position on the board. Dr. Akins came on the board in 2001. Mr. Paul Curtis of Williamson County (Liberty Hill) is now holding Place 6 position on the board. Mr. Curtis came on the board in 2010 and is currently serving as secretary. Other members of the service center board are Dr. Ron McMichael of Travis County (Austin); Mr. Gary L. Barnett of Burnet County (Bertram); Mr. Richard Stuewe of Gillespie County (Fredericksburg); Dr. Don Rogers of Hays County (Buda); Mr. Leroy Lorenz of Lee County (Giddings); and, representing charter schools, Ms. Jill Kolasinski of Travis County (Austin).

This article has been read 50 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Blanco County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus