Blanco County News
Weather Partly Cloudy 84.0°F (41%)
Blanco FFA Wins Leadership Sweepstakes
Wednesday, December 18, 2013 • Posted December 20, 2013

The Blanco FFA had an outstanding performance at the Hill District Leadership Development Events on Monday, November 11th. Of the 14 events held, the Blanco FFA Chapter competed in 12, placing 1st in 10 events along with a 2nd and 5th place. Overall, Blanco qualified 11 teams for Area while setting a new record for points earned in winning the leadership sweepstakes for the 13th consecutive year.

Following the Hill District LDEs, Wednesday, November 20th saw more than 600 students from over 100 schools from across Central Texas converge on Blanco High School to compete in the Area VII FFA Leadership Development Events. Overall, the top two teams from seven districts were eligible to compete in 13 different events. As a result of their district success a week earlier, the Blanco FFA Chapter had one of the largest participations, qualifying more than 40 individuals.

Blanco’s highest placing at area would be the Greenhand Quiz team which finished 3rd overall. The Public Relations team followed with the next best placing, finishing 4th. Other teams and their rankings included: Jr. Skills 5th, Radio and Job Interview 6th and Sr. Skills, Jr. Chapter Conducting and Ag Issues 7th.

For the semester, more than 60 local FFA members trained and competed on LDE teams. Those advancing to area included: Sebastian Tomas, Maggie Reininger, Brenna Wallace, Molly Edmondson, Kaleigh Griffin, Denise Edwards, Garrett Seales, Jacob Fuller, Dalton Savanich, Jehrome Bates, Jacob Robinson, Kendall Hartmann, Cross Caldwell, Taylor Calder, Maryn McMain, Rance Dollahite, Devlin Moore, Ian Kirkland, Sara Jean Martinez, Bret Leigh Nance, Alley Penshorn, Logan Dodd, Kyle Gray, Abbie Culton, Lexee Jenkins, Montana Wiseman, Kristen Bowman, Jamie McClinton, Payton Savarino, Kari Graham, Katherine Biggs, Savannah Kershaw, Paige Green, Jonathan Campbell, Jessica Sevilla, Noah Wheeler, Kameron Martinez, Hayden Hunt, Mason LeBlanc, Deanna Sevilla, Taylor Guinn, Megan Wier, Carlin Green, Phil Alvarado, Kenny Omo, and Ryan Edwards. Advisors for the Blanco FFA are Felice and Jason Marek.

This article has been read 90 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Blanco County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus