Blanco County News
Weather Partly Cloudy 84.0°F (41%)
Who’s Who in the Blanco Historic Cemetery
Part 4
Wednesday, February 16, 2011 • Posted February 15, 2011

It’s been fairly simple to record who is buried in which section up to this point. Remember each section is 50' by 50'. In section A9, we have the cemetery office and some tool sheds. Beside the office, there is one grave; Samuel E. Walters lived from 1840-1850. On the eastside of the dirt drive there are three graves, according to measurements, that fit in this section; Beauford Morris (1905-1989) is buried on one row and down a row are Jesse L. McCrocklin (1800-1888) and Isabella H. McCrocklin (1812-1902).

In Section A8, the graves are laid out rather haphazardly. They are not in nice, neat rows as they were in previous sections. Starting at the back of the section: Rowena Neill Garrett (1899-1918), Maggie S. Neill (1876-1943), John G. Neill (1874-1955), Thomas T. “Butch” Neill (1897-1992), Ida Sachtleben (1882-1963), Baby Krueger (July 19, 1888), Althea B. Stone (1907-1984). Coming forward: Mamie E. Galbreath (1887-1970), Arthur Galbreath (1883-1947).

Coming forward: J. D. Marcrum (1847-1922), Alice Marcrum (1864-1949), Boody E. Jacobs (1884-1959), Rinda Jacobs (1880-1946), unknown, Albert P. Hutchins (1886-1907), Mary Ann Hutchins (1860-1942), unknown, unknown.

Still coming forward: Angie Jones (hand-made tombstone with no date), Lee Darling (1910-1931), Carl Berndt (hand-made tombstone but no dates), baby Lola V. Jacobs (1922-1926), Albert L. Jacobs (1888-1963), Ima Jean Schumann nee Traweck (1905-1978), Jacob Traweck (1858-1941), Mary J. Traweck (1832-1921), unknown.

Front row: Victor C. Seymour (1919-2003), G. T. Gibbons (1868-1949), M. L. Gibbons (1879-1934), Josephine H. Thomson (1890-1970), unknown, unknown, unknown, Clark W. Coffield (1907-1966), Garland Spencer (ashes-dod 2010) and infant Charles Richard Spencer (1975). When the cemetery records are available for research, we may be able to identify some of these graves.

Thanks to Dolores Beavers for noticing a typo in Authur Ray Steffens’ name in section 14A. Her call sent us back to the cemetery to triple check our data. Other corrections for section 14A: Inez Patterson was born in 1905, the name is Vula Marcrum Forbes, and there was an unknown on the row with Anita Bowen. I used to tell my students when I made a mistake on the board that I was just checking to see if they were paying attention. Thanks for paying attention! These details may be important to future generations.

If you have stories or family connections that you would like to place in a public file, please send them to: Gail Moore McClellan, Vice President, Cemetery Committee, P.O. Box 640, Blanco, TX 78606 or

This article has been read 119 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Blanco County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus